Print this page | Close this window     
Logo: Australian Medical Association Victoria

Our Team

Our Team


 Dr Suzanne Royle: President

Dr Royle is a Metro North Paediatrician. She is the first female President of ASMOFQ.

Elected in 2019, she previously held the role of Vice President. Dr Royle first became involved in Industrial Representation for Queensland’s public doctors during the SMO contracts crisis.

She believes that the safety and wellbeing of both doctors and their patients is best achieved through collective organisation and representation, to uphold and improve workplace entitlements, conditions and organisational culture. 


 Dr Hau Tan: Vice-President

Hau is a specialist anaesthetist, working full-time at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital and also in private practice. He has worked for Queensland Health for 20 years.

Hau’s leadership and hard work was pivotal during the SMO contracts crisis in 2014, and he has been a key negotiator in MOCA4 and MOCA5 since then.

He is dedicated to supporting and protecting ASMOFQ members - when doctors feel safe and comfortable within the workplace, then they are able to provide the best quality healthcare to their fellow Queenslanders.

 Dr Jim Finn: Secretary

Jim has been a member of ASMOFQ since its establishment in 2000 and has been on state council since 2009 and since 2014 has been the state Secretary and since 2015 the Qld representative on the Federal Executive of the Union.

Jim has held the salaried positions of Intern, Registrar, Acting Full Medical Superintendent, MSRPP, Senior Medical officer -non Specialist and Senior Medical Officer -Specialist all within the state of Queensland.

He is a past RDAQ president and RDAA Vice president. He is currently employed as an addiction medicine specialist at TPCH. 

 Dr Nikola Ognyenovits: Treasurer & Assistant Secretary

Nikola is a Hungarian born Addiction Medicine Specialist physician in Brisbane, Australia. He works with clients with substance use disorders, and associated mental health conditions, including developmental trauma, PTSD, depression and anxiety disorders. His main interest in research is the exploration of novel approaches to addiction treatment. 

Nikola is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians’ Chapter of Addiction Medicine, and a council member of the Australasian Professional Society on Alcohol and Other Drugs. He is also involved in advocacy to inform drug policy and service development.

Currently he is working as a Staff Specialist in Metro North and West Moreton Alcohol and Drugs Services. He visits Yulu-Burri-Ba Aboriginal Health Service on North-Stradbroke Island.  As a Senior Lecturer at the University of Queensland School of Medicine he contributes to the education of medical students and other health professionals.

For the past five years, Nikola has been the Assistant Secretary/Treasurer of ASMOFQ. He is also an elected councillor on AMAQ Council.

Nikola graduated as Doctor of Medicine in Budapest, Hungary, initially training in Psychiatry. After moving to Australia in 1992, he worked in rural and remote centres across Australia. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine.

 Dr Chris Turnbull: Committee Member

Chris is an anaesthetist in who has worked in Queensland, New South Wales and the United Kingdom since graduating from the University of Queensland in 1999.
He has been a member of the ASMOFQ State Management Committee since 2014, helped to organise the union's response to the SMO contracts crisis and was part of the team that negotiated the last two Medical Officers' Certified Agreements.
He enjoys teaching and mentoring junior doctors as well as fishing and spending time with his young family.

 Dr Dan Halliday: Committee Member

Dan Halliday is Medical Superintendent and Rural Generalist (Obstetrics) at Stanthorpe Hospital on the Darling Downs in Southeastern Queensland. He holds Fellowship of ACRRM and RACGP and has further qualifications as an Associate Fellow of RACMA, also holding a GAICD. Dans engagement with ASMOF commenced as a RMO Delegate to MOCA1 in 2005 and in varying capacities since.

He is a Past President of the Rural Doctors Association of Queensland (2010-11) and has been very active prosecuting the case for the Rural and Remote Review under MOCA5

 Dr Dilum Ekanayake: Committee Member

Dr Dilum Ekanayake is a trainee, currently working at MSHHS and in healthcare quality improvement research as part of a College Academic Fellowship.

He is also undertaking a Clinical Fellowship at the Healthcare Improvement Unit within the Department of Health, while completing a combined Master’s in Public Health and Healthcare Administration.

Dilum has been a staunch advocate for doctors’ rights, and continues to promote DiT workplace conditions as the sole DiT council member of the Queensland ASMOF branch and state union.



 Mr John Cosgrove: Chief Industrial Advocate






Published Date: September 16, 2020
Printed from

Contact ASMOFQ: T: (07) 3872 2222 F: (07) 3856 4727 E: