Our Team

Our Team

Our Team

 Dr Hau Tan: President

Hau is a specialist anaesthetist, working full-time at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital and also in private practice. He has worked for Queensland Health for 20 years.

Hau’s leadership and hard work was pivotal during the SMO contracts crisis in 2014, and he has been a key negotiator in MOCA4 and MOCA5 since then.

He is dedicated to supporting and protecting ASMOFQ members - when doctors feel safe and comfortable within the workplace, then they are able to provide the best quality healthcare to their fellow Queenslanders.

 Dr Chris Turnbull: Vice-President

Chris is an anaesthetist in who has worked in Queensland, New South Wales and the United Kingdom since graduating from the University of Queensland in 1999.
He has been a member of the ASMOFQ State Management Committee since 2014, helped to organise the union's response to the SMO contracts crisis and was part of the team that negotiated the last two Medical Officers' Certified Agreements.
He enjoys teaching and mentoring junior doctors as well as fishing and spending time with his young family.

 Dr Dilum Ekanayake: Secretary

Dr Dilum Ekanayake is a trainee, currently working at MSHHS and in healthcare quality improvement research as part of a College Academic Fellowship.

He is also undertaking a Clinical Fellowship at the Healthcare Improvement Unit within the Department of Health, while completing a combined Master’s in Public Health and Healthcare Administration.

Dilum has been a staunch advocate for doctors’ rights, and continues to promote DiT workplace conditions as the sole DiT council member of the Queensland ASMOF branch and state union.


 Dr Dan Halliday: Committee Member

Dan Halliday is Medical Superintendent and Rural Generalist (Obstetrics) at Stanthorpe Hospital on the Darling Downs in Southeastern Queensland. He holds Fellowship of ACRRM and RACGP and has further qualifications as an Associate Fellow of RACMA, also holding a GAICD. Dans engagement with ASMOF commenced as a RMO Delegate to MOCA1 in 2005 and in varying capacities since.

He is a Past President of the Rural Doctors Association of Queensland (2010-11) and has been very active prosecuting the case for the Rural and Remote Review under MOCA5

 Dr Siva Senthuran: Committee Member


 Mr John Cosgrove: Chief Industrial Advocate






 Mr Alex Morison: Senior Industrial Officer